PRAYER 10: “My Father, if it is possible, don’t make me suffer by having me drink from this cup. But do what you want, and not what I want”

“My Father, if it is possible, don’t make me suffer by having me drink from this cup. But do what you want, and not what I want” (Matthew 26:39 CEV – Jesus)

Meditation

This is probably the most intense prayer as we see Jesus fall on his face and pray in his dire need. The cup he was about to partake signified his sorrow, anguish, terror and death. He desperately wanted it to be removed from him as the hour of bitter torture and crucifixion approached. He however recognized that God’s way was supreme and could be trusted. He trusted that God would get him past the present sufferings and give him victory over death and honour him above every other name.

Let us like Jesus set aside our will and desires and seek to do our heavenly Father’s will as Jesus has showed us.

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

